Developing with Chrome

Everyone has an opinion about which browser is the greatest and why.  Prior to starting in web development, I used to just click on whatever icon was default for my computer – at work, that would be Internet Explorer, at home it was Edge or Safari depending on whether I was working on my Mac or laptop.  I never thought about downloading alternate browsers when all I wanted to do was get on the internet.  However, as a developer, being able to access and test your site on a variety of browsers is an important tool in your arsenal – and Chrome is fast becoming my browser of choice for developing.

One reason is the extensions it offers.  There’s an entire webstore of free extensions available.  For someone transitioning from print to web (like me), I’ve found a few to be invaluable.

Page Ruler

This is definitely one of my go-to tools.  Having worked primarily in Photoshop and Illustrator, I had gotten used to having a page ruler and guides to help with placement and object sizing.  Well, the web doesn’t really have that kind of a workspace.  For a while there, it was a lot of trial and error (and I am a bit of a control freak and like to have every element placed just so), so it was incredibly frustrating when laying out a web page.  But Page Ruler helps take out the guess work.  You can draw a box around any object on a web page, get its pixel dimensions and positioning, and input those values into your code.

Fontface Ninja

Are you a font nerd, like me?  Can you look at a sign or advertisement and know exactly what font was used?  Ever been to a website with a really great font and not known what it was?  Then Fontface Ninja is an extension you may want to consider.  It recognizes fonts on the web and finds them so you can either try or buy them.

Palette Creator

I love, love, love Palette Creator!  You can create an 8, 16, 24, or 32 color palette from any image on the web – very useful when creating a site and you need consistency throughout.  It also gives you the option to display the color values in hex, rgb, hsl, and many more, depending on your coding preference.

Web Developer

A must for any developer to have, this extension is chock full of goodies – from a page resizer to responsive layout and CSS tools.

Leave a Reply

